ESU AGM 2016

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

MONDAY 11TH APRIL 2016

AGENDA

  1. Reading of the minutes of the last AGM

 

  1. To receive the report of President for the year 2015

 

  1. To approve the audited accounts for the year 2015

 

  1. Any other business

Calendar of Activities 2016

  Activity Target Event / Aim Date Time Venue
         1

 

Public Speaking Competition

 

All Zones Workshop for all participants Saturday 23/1/16 09:00-12:00 College du St Esprit
1

(North Region)

Heat 1

 

Thursday 28/1/16 10:00-13:00 Droopnath Ramphul State College
1

(Port Louis Region)

Heat 2

 

Tuesday 02/2/16 09:30-12:30 Loreto College

Port Louis

3

(Curepipe)

Heat 3 Thursday 4/2/16 10:00-13:00 Loreto College Curepipe
Rodrigues Workshop for all participants & other students Thur 4/2/16 Friday 5/2/16 09:00 – 14:00

09:00 – 12:00

Marechal College
3

(South)

Heat 4 (rescheduled due to heavy rain) Thursday 18/2/16 10:00-13:00 Loreto College Curepipe
2 Heat 5 Friday 12/2/16 10:00-14:00 Lycée des Mascareignes
4 Heat 6 Tuesday

16/2/16

10:00-14:00 College du St Esprit
5 Heat 7 Tuesday 23/2/16 09:30-13:00 Marechal College
Workshop for semi-finalists Saturday 27/2/16 09:00-12:00 College du St Esprit
Semi – Finals Thursday 3/3/16 10:00-13:00 College du St Esprit
Workshop for Finalists Saturday 19/3/16 09:00-12:00 College du St Esprit
National Finals Tuesday 29/3/16 10:00-13:30 Gymkhana Club

(Tentative)

2 International Public Speaking Competition IPSC – London May 2016 HSBC Headquarters, London
3

 

 

 

 

Workshop for Teachers (Both Non-English Teachers & English Teachers in Rodrigues

 

A programme run jointly with REDCO for Rodrigues teachers

Rodrigues

 

The programme aims at helping teachers gain confidence in English so that they can impart this confidence to the students 2nd & 3rd Feb 2016

 

 

 

 

09:00 to 15:00

 

 

 

Grande Montagne College

 

4 Annual General Meeting AGM Monday 11/4/16 13:15-14:15 British Council
5

 

 

 

English Language Day

 

 

 Students (Secondary & Primary)

 

 

Message on importance of English – Activities to be organized to encourage children to speak English on that day. April 2016 Participating

Schools

6

 

 

National Spelling Bee competition

(Tentative dates & venues)

 

1 Heat 1

(North Region)

Tuesday

3/5/16

10:00-13:00 Droopnath Ramphul
1 Heat 2

(Port Louis Region)

Thursday 5/5/16 09:30-12:30 Loreto College Port Louis
2 Heat 3

(B.Bassin /Rose Hill)

Tuesday 10/5/16 10:00-13:00 Gaetan Raynal State College
2 Heat 4

(East & Centre)

Thursday 12/5/16 10:00-13:00 Gaetan Raynal State College
3 Heat 6

(Curepipe Region)

Tuesday 17/5/16 10:00-13:00 Loreto College Curepipe
3 Heat 6

(South Region)

Thursday 19/5/16 10:00-13:00 Loreto College Curepipe
4 Heat 7 Tuesday 24/5/16 10:00-13:00 College du St Esprit
Finals Tuesday 31/5/16 10:00-13:00 Auditorium MCB

(To be confirmed)

7

 

Quiz

 

Form IV & Form V Students June 2015 Under consideration
8

 

Story Telling Competition

Tentative)

 

Std IV pupils

 

Rodrigues Wednesday

15/6/16

09:00 – 11:30

 

Cultural & Leisure Centre,

Mont Plaisir

9 Spelling Bee Competition (Rod) Rodrigues

 

(FI,II,III & IV) Thursday 16/6/16 09:00-12:00 Marechal College
10 Creative Writing Workshop for Upper Form Students To be sponsored by President’s Fund for Creative Writing July / August 2 mornings

 

To be organized
11

 

 

Annual Dinner for ESU Members

(Members pay for their dinner)

 

Teachers & guests who promote the English language Social gathering August 2016

 

19:00

 

 

To be organized
12

 

 

E-Teacher Scholarship Programme

(Run jointly with the US Embassy)

 English Teachers

 

 

(Selection & Interviews organized by the ESU Usually

August-September 2016

Normally at the British Council

 

13

 

Scrabble Tournament (To be confirmed) Adults Dec 2016 To be arranged
14

 

Commonwealth Essay Competition

(RCS)

 Secondary Students Largest essay competition in the world Prize-Giving Ceremony i 14:00

 

To be arranged

 

* Other activities may be added to the above list (e.g. workshops for teachers run by US Embassy in collaboration with ESU)