Activity Target Event / Aim Date Time Venue
         1                   Public Speaking Competition   All Zones Workshop for all participants Saturday 21/1/17 09:00-12:00 College du St Esprit
1 (North Region) Heat 1   Thursday 26/1/17 10:00-13:00 Droopnath Ramphul State College
1 (Port Louis Region) Heat 2   Tuesday 31/1/17 09:30-12:30 Loreto College Port Louis
3 (Curepipe) Heat 3 Thursday 2/2/17 10:00-13:00 Loreto College Curepipe
Rodrigues Workshop for all participants & other students Thur 2/2/17 Friday 3/2/17 09:00 – 14:00 09:00 – 12:00 Le Chou College
3 (South) Heat 4 Tuesday 7/2/17 10:00-13:00 Loreto College Curepipe
4 Heat 5 Tuesday 14/2/17 10:00-14:00 College du St Esprit
2 Heat 6 Friday 17/2/17 10:00-14:00 Lycee des Mascareignes
Rodrigues   Heat 7 Tuesday 21/2/17 09:30-13:00 Le Chou College
Workshop for semi-finalists Saturday 4/3/16 09:00-12:00 College du St Esprit
Semi - Finals Thursday 9/3/17 10:00-13:00 College du St Esprit
          Workshop for Finalists     Saturday 18/3/17     09:00-12:00         College du St Esprit  
      National Finals Thursday 30/3/17 10:00-13:30 To be confirmed
2 Find the Appropriate Word Competition (Tentative dates & venues)   Form V Students     ROUND 1   Day 1   Tuesday 14/3/17 09:30-13:30     College du St-Esprit  
ROUND 2   Day 2 Wednesday 15/3/17 09:30-13:30 D.A.V  
      Day 3 Friday 17/3/17 09:30-13:30     Gaetan Raynal SC  
         
3 Find the Appropriate Word Competition (Tentative dates & venues)         Quarter-Finals     Tuesday 21/3/17   09:30-13:30   Loreto College Curepipe
Form V Students       Finals   Thursday 23/3/17       09:30-13:30     To be confirmed
4 Annual General Meeting AGM Monday 10/4/17 13:15-14:15 British Council
5                 English Language Day       Students (Secondary & Primary)   Message on importance of English – Activities to be organized to encourage children to speak English on that day.           April 2017                           Participating Schools      
6         Creative Writing Workshop   Upper form Students       To be sponsored by President’s Fund for Creative Writing     April 2017         3 mornings       To be organized
7       International Public Speaking Competition IPSC - London 12 May 2017 Royal Institution of Great Britain
                8                 National Spelling Bee competition (Tentative dates & venues)   1 Heat 1 (North Region) Tuesday 2/5/17 10:00-13:00 Droopnath Ramphul
1 Heat 2 (Port Louis Region) Thursday 4/5/17 09:30-12:30 Loreto College Port Louis
2 Heat 3 (B.Bassin /Rose Hill) Tuesday 9/5/17 10:00-13:00 Gaetan Raynal State College
2 Heat 4 (East & Centre) Thursday 11/5/17 10:00-13:00 Gaetan Raynal State College
3 Heat 6 (Curepipe Region) Tuesday 16/5/17 10:00-13:00 Loreto College Curepipe
3 Heat 6 (South Region) Thursday 18/5/17 10:00-13:00 Loreto College Curepipe
4 Heat 7 Tuesday 23/5/17 10:00-13:00 College du St Esprit
Finals Tuesday 30/5/17 10:00-13:00 Auditorium MCB (To be confirmed)
9   Story Telling Competition (Tentative)   Std IV pupils   Rodrigues Thursday 15/6/17 09:00 – 11:30   Cultural & Leisure Centre, Mont Plaisir
10 Spelling Bee Competition (Rodrigues) Rodrigues   (FI,II,III & IV) Friday 16/6/17 09:00-12:00 Le Chou College
11     Annual Dinner for ESU Members (Members pay for their dinner)   Teachers & guests who promote the English language Social gathering August 2017   19:00     To be organized
12   Scrabble Tournament Public & ESU Members Adults Dec 2017 To be arranged
  * Other activities may be added to the above list (e.g. workshops for teachers run by US Embassy in collaboration with ESU)